Children and Media

I have always been engaged by new technology and have been a long-time believer of technology’s power to transform educational experiences (i.e., going way back to my first experience with an Apple IIE computer in the 80s). I consider myself fortunate to have had the opportunity to explore these passions further as part of my own educational and professional experiences. Ultimately, a great deal of my graduate and undergraduate studies – and a good portion of the work I have done professionally since leaving school – have focused on youth’s use of technology for educational purposes.

For several years, I was invited by my good friend Nancy Schwartz to be a guest lecturer in her course on Children and the Media at Indiana University.  These lecture opportunities always provided a good excuse for me to dig into current research and explore new trends in educational technology that had come up since the previous year – so I saw it as a win/win professionally, and educationally, speaking. It was also rewarding to be able able to field questions from the students, and refer to some of my own research findings and evaluative observations.

I’ve uploaded two examples of these presentations – both of which have minor formatting issues that seem to be a by-product of all the Powerpoint software updates through the years.

J. Borse (2003) Children’s Use of New Media and the Internet. A lecture presented to the Children in Media class in the Department of Telecommunications at Indiana University. 

J. Borse (2007) Media in Schools: A lecture presented to the Children in Media class in the Department of Telecommunications at Indiana University. 

Looking back on these presentations (one of which being more than a decade old now), has presented an interesting opportunity for reflection. In the hands of creative teachers I think technology has been, and continues to be, a powerful tool – and thankfully there are many new technology tools and trends that make it less time consuming for educators to incorporate technology – as well as high-quality digital resources have become more readily accessible.  But with a few exceptions, I feel that the classrooms I’ve had a chance to visit recently look very much like the classrooms I saw one or two decades ago, as well as the ones I experienced during my own K-12 educational experience. With all the awesome technology tools and digital resources at our finger tips now, I can’t help but think that there is so much untapped potential.

Leave a Reply

